Updated: Big games in this Weekend’s rugby


Scots College and St Pat’s Silverstream will be reaching out for Hurricanes First XV semi-final wins tomorrow. PHOTO: Andy McArthur.

  • By Scott MacLean

This weekend’s rugby kicks off this evening with the Wellington U19s and Hurricanes Heartland sides meeting at the Stadium and the ions and Canterbury following on from that.

Fewer games on tomorrow – but some big clashes – see below


Three Wellington sides are in action tomorrow as they look to secure places in next week’s Hurricanes Regional final, and with that the opportunity to progress to the National Top 4’s.

Two of those matches are here. Newly-crowned Wellington champions Scots College host Palmerston North Boys’ High School at Jerry Collins Stadium with kick-off at 2.30pm, while in the Coed section Aotea College face fellow 2019 Premiership side Kapiti College at 1pm overlooking Porirua Harbour. The third team is St Pat’s Silverstream who make the trek to the Hawkes Bay to face Super 8 runners-up Hastings Boys’ High School.

The winners of the two boys section matches will meet next week, with Aotea or Kapiti to face perennial Coed powerhouse Feilding High. There will also be the Girls final next week, with St Mary’s to face Palmerston North’s Manukura.


The weekend’s representative round starts a shade after 5pm tonight, with the U19s taking on the Heartland U20 selection at the Stadium. Both teams were in action in the Manawatu muck last Saturday, with Wellington comfortable 28-0 winners over the locals and the Heartland side beaten 3-38 by Hawkes Bay.

That match is followed by the Lions taking on Canterbury, with both sides winless through the first two rounds and both having been comprehensively beaten by Tasman. Coach Chris Gibbes has resisted making changes for the match which has the Harry Saundercock Memorial Trophy at stake, with Vaea Fifita’s availability seeing him come in in the only switch from the side that started last week’s draw with Hawke’s Bay.

There’s three more matches tomorrow two of those at Kilbirnie Park, starting with the Samoan and Centurion U18 sides at 11.15, followed by their senior sides at 1pm. The Maori are also in action, hitting the road again to face their Manawatu counterparts.

The Pride have the week off before starting their Farah Palmer Cup campaign next week, as do the Development side.


Just one grade remains in action, the Reserve Grade Division 2 for the Alan Seerup Cup. Top qualifiers the Upper Hutt Rams J8’s face the MSP Internationals at Maoribank Park, with the Paremata-Plimmerton Punters hosting the OBU Pink Ginners at Ngati Toa Domain in the other. Both matches are 2.30pm kickoffs.



Wellington Samoans:

1      Ben Butler

2      Poasa Poasa

3      Gerard Faitoto’a

4      Malaeola Va’ai

5      Mellenniumma Leota

6      Tasipale Valavala

7      Jimmy Hewitt

8      Tupou Sopoaga

9      Hinckley Siaosi

10    Fa’atonu Fili (C)

11     Faresa Tasele

12    Isaia Petelo

13    Alex Ropeti

14    Fereti Soloa

15    Johnny Teleaga

16    Alapati Soke

17    Johnwhite Silva

18    Chris Lafaele

19    Laman Ah Wong

20   DJ Taoipu

21    Swayde Brightwell

22   Tom Maiava

23   Hawaiki Va’a-Wallace

Wellington Lions

  1. Xavier Numia (Ories)
  2. Asafo Aumua (Avalon Wolves)
  3. Alex Fidow (Ories)
  4. Josh Furno
  5. James Blackwell (Petone)
  6. Vaea Fifita (Wellington)
  7. Du’plessis Kirifi (Norths – captain)
  8. Teariki Ben-Nicholas (OBU)
  9. Kemara Hauiti-Parapara (Tawa)
  10. Jackson Garden-Bachop (Norths)
  11. Pepesana Patafilo (Tawa)
  12. Peter Umaga-Jensen (Wainuiomata)
  13. Vince Aso (Paremata-Plimmerton)
  14. Wes Goosen (OBU)
  15. Billy Proctor (MSP)
  16. James O’Reilly (HOBM)
  17. Morgan Poi (OBU)
  18. Sef Fa’agase
  19. Naitoa Ah Kuoi (MSP)
  20. Mateaki Kafatolu (Petone)
  21. Connor Collins (HOBM)
  22. Trent Renata (Ories)
  23. Losi Filipo (Norths)

Wellington U19s

  1. Nike Manaena (Petone)
  2. Tyrone Thompson (MSP)
  3. Luke Chisholm (Upper Hutt Rams)
  4. Angelo Smith (Wellington)
  5. Hugo Plummer (Tawa – co-captain)
  6. Keelan Whitman (MSP)
  7. Josh Southall (Upper Hutt Rams)
  8. Iona Apineru (Upper Hutt Rams)
  9. Isaac Bracewell (Wellington)
  10. Malo Manuao (Ories)
  11. Kayden Muller (Paremata-Plimmerton)
  12. Kienan Higgins (Norths)
  13. Leo Thompson (MSP – co-captain)
  14. Junior Time-Tautoa (Norths)
  15. Jaylen Tuapola (Petone)
  16. Kaleb Sinclair (Upper Hutt Rams)
  17. Sanasco Crichton (MSP)
  18. PJ Sheck (Johnsonville)
  19. Taine Plumtree (OBU)
  20. Sam Smith (Wainuiomata)
  21. Shamus Langton (OBU)
  22. Cam Ferreira (Petone)
  23. Josh Mellon (Tawa)

Wellington Maori

  1. Rhys Reiri (Ngāti Kahungunu/Ngāti Porou – Poneke)
  2. Ethan Mate-Robinson (Ngāti Awa/Te Whānau a Apanui – Norths)
  3. Joe Reid (Te Whānau a Apanui – Wellington)
  4. Dylan Williamson (Te Atiawa – Petone)
  5. Taine Tata (Ngāti Maniapoto – Upper Hutt Rams)
  6. Matthew Jacobs (Ngāpuhi – Wainuiomata)
  7. William Rua (Ngāi Tuhoe – HOBM)
  8. Luke Omeri (Ngāpuhi – Pare-Plim)
  9. Sheridan Rangihuna (Ngāti Porou/Rongowhakaata – HOBM)
  10. Glen Walters (Te Rarawa – HOBM)
  11. Sam Clark (Ngāti Kahungunu – Tawa)
  12. Jarrod Adams (Ngāti Maniapoto – Petone)
  13. Jayden McCarthy (Ngāti Porou – Norths)
  14. Jordan-Glen Bradbrook (Ngāi Tamanuhiri/Ngāti Toa Rangatira – HOBM)
  15. Pakai Turia (Ngāti Apa/Ngāti Porou – Poneke)
  16. Eli Hunt (Ngāi Tuhoe – Upper Hutt Rams)
  17. Tanara Haenga (Ngāti Porou/Ngāi Tuhoe – Wainuiomata)
  18. Dominic Herihy (Te Atiawa – Upper Hutt Rams)
  19. Jordan Gillies (Ngāti Kahungunu – HOBM)
  20. Apirana McMillan-Parata (Ngāti Toa Rangatira – Poneke)
  21. Declan Hay (Ngāi Tahu – Ories)
  22. Adam Clarke (Ngāti Maniapoto/Ngāti Haua – OBU)
  23. Jimmy-Lee Hongara (Ngāti Porou – Poneke)


Wellington Centurions Development

  1. Tony Coburn (Tawa)
  2. Andrew Jones (Poneke)
  3. Tolu Fahamokioa (Tawa)
  4. James Corcoran (Pare-Plim)
  5. Nev Apineru (Upper Hutt Rams)
  6. Callum Watts-Pointer (Norths)
  7. Sio Fidow (Tawa)
  8. Folau Vea (Tawa)
  9. Matt Fowler (OBU)
  10. Callum Harkin (OBU)
  11. Reece Plumtree (OBU)
  12. Izzy Foa’I (OBU)
  13. Viliami Fine (Petone)
  14. Romu Senileba (Tawa)
  15. Esi Komaisavai (Norths)
  16. Josh Houston-Tupou (Upper Hutt Rams)
  17. Stu Simonsen (Pare-Plim)
  18. Bevan Clark (Wainuiomata)
  19. Tito Ioane (Tawa)
  20. Alex Morrissey (Poneke)
  21. Jared Verney (OBU)
  22. Campbell Cowie (OBU)
  23. Ben Stephens (OBU)

Wellington Samoans

Team TBA


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright Club Rugby